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Introduction 

This annual publication provides a general descriptive overview 
of the taxes that New York State and its local governments 
impose.  For calendar-year taxes, except as otherwise noted, the 
descriptions apply to tax year 2010.  For other taxes, the 
descriptions generally apply to the tax as in effect on  
September 1, 2010.  Where applicable, scheduled law changes in 
subsequent periods are noted.   
 
The Handbook does not include non-tax revenue sources such as 
motor vehicle fees and the Lottery.  Instead, it limits its focus to 
taxes, primarily those administered by the Department of 
Taxation and Finance. 
 
The Tax Department issues considerable additional information 
on the State imposed taxes described in the Handbook.  This 
includes taxpayer guidance, statistical reports, liability studies, 
collections data, policy studies, and comparative analyses.  The 
Office of Tax Policy Analysis produces a variety of statistical and 
policy reports, including: 
 
•  annual detailed statistical studies of the personal income, 
 sales, business, and estate taxes, 
 
•  the New York State Tax Sourcebook, which contains a    

 wealth of tax information, and 
 
•  the annual Tax Expenditure Report, which provides 
 information on various tax incentives and other tax relief 
 provisions. 
 
These and other publications can be obtained on line at the 
“Policy and Statistical Reports” page of the Department’s Web 
site (www.nystax.gov).  The website also includes information on 
enrolling in the “Subscription Service” to receive automatic 
notification of newly released reports. 
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Also, where applicable, the Handbook references other 
Department publications that provide additional information.  
Readers can also search the Department’s Website  
(www.nystax.gov) for further information on the taxes included 
in the Handbook. 
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State Taxes 

New York’s income tax is imposed on the entire income of New 
York residents, and on the New York-source income of  
nonresidents.  The computation of tax starts from federal adjusted 
gross income (FAGI).  Certain items of income not subject to  
federal tax are taxed by New York, while other items of income  
subject to federal tax are not taxed by New York.  These are  
addition and subtraction modifications to FAGI. 
 
Taxpayers must add back interest on bonds issued by other states 
and their localities and other special items exempt from federal tax, 
but taxable for New York purposes. 
 
Taxpayers may subtract from FAGI such income as U.S.  
government bond interest, taxable social security benefits, all 
federal, New York State and local pension income, up to $20,000 
of qualifying private pension and annuity income, and certain other 
income taxable for federal purposes.  Also, individuals may  
subtract from FAGI up to $5,000 per year of contributions made 
under the New York State College Choice Tuition Savings  
Program.  After the net of additions and subtractions, the result is 
New York Adjusted Gross Income (NYAGI). 
 
Taxpayers may choose either the standard deduction or New York 
itemized deductions.  However, taxpayers using the federal  
standard deduction must use the New York standard deduction.  
For 2010, the New York standard deduction equals: 

Personal Income Tax 
(Article 22 of the Tax 
Law) 
 
 
 
Tax Base 

2010 Standard Deductions  
Married Filing Jointly $15,000 

Heads of Households $10,500 
Single Individuals $7,500 
Married Filing Separately $7,500 

Dependent Filers* $3,000 
* Those claimed as a dependent on someone else’s return. 
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Taxpayers who itemize federal deductions may itemize 
deductions for New York.  Taxpayers use their federal itemized 
deductions as the starting point for calculating their New York 
itemized deductions.  They must then make certain adjustments.  
The most common is the disallowance of state and local income 
taxes paid and the allowance of deductions for expenses incurred 
to carry other states’ bonds. 
 
Taxpayers can claim an itemized deduction for college tuition 
expenses they paid on behalf of the taxpayer, the taxpayer’s 
spouse, or their dependents to enroll or attend qualifying in- or 
out-of-state institutions of higher education.  The deduction is 
available only for undergraduate study.  Taxpayers may choose 
between the itemized deduction and a 4 percent refundable credit 
(described more below). 
 
Barring Congressional action, there is no federal limitation on 
itemized deductions for certain high-income taxpayers in tax year 
2010.  However, New York’s Tax Law limits itemized deductions 
of upper income taxpayers through a percentage reduction.  The 
limitation begins at 25 percent of deductions for single taxpayers 
with NYAGI over $100,000 and married taxpayers with NYAGI 
over $200,000, and it reaches 50 percent of itemized deductions 
for all taxpayers with New York adjusted gross income above 
$525,000 and below $1 million.  In addition, itemized deductions 
are completely eliminated, except for 50 percent of charitable 
contributions, for taxpayers with more than $1 million of 
NYAGI.  Beginning in tax year 2010, only 25 percent of 
charitable contributions are allowed for taxpayers with more than 
$10 million of NYAGI. 
 
The Tax Law permits an exemption of $1,000 for each dependent 
who qualifies for a federal personal exemption.  The exemption 
does not apply to taxpayers and their spouses, including  
dependents filing their own tax returns. 
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For tax years 2009 through 2011, New York has temporarily 
added two new income tax rates and brackets.  New York now 
imposes a graduated income tax with rates ranging between 4 and 
8.97 percent of taxable income, which equals NYAGI less the 
deductions and exemptions described above.  The new rate 
schedules for tax year 2010 are shown below: 

 

 

Tax Rates & Brackets 

Married Filing Jointly 

Taxable Income Tax 
Not over $16,000 4.00% of taxable income 
Over $16,000 but not over $22,000 $640 plus 4.50% of excess over $16,000 
Over $22,000 but not over $26,000 $910 plus 5.25% of excess over $22,000 
Over $26,000 but not over $40,000 $1,120 plus 5.90% of excess over $26,000 
Over $40,000  but not over $300,000 $1,946 plus 6.85% of excess over $40,000  
Over $300,000 but not over $500,000 $19,756 plus 7.85% of excess over $300,000 
Over $500,000 $35,456 plus 8.97% of excess over $500,000 
  
Single, Married Filing Separately, Estates and Trusts 

Taxable Income Tax 
Not over $8,000 4.00% of taxable income 
Over $  8,000 but not over $11,000 $320 plus 4.50% of excess over $  8,000 
Over $11,000 but not over $13,000 $455 plus 5.25% of excess over $11,000 
Over $13,000 but not over $20,000 $560 plus 5.90% of excess over $13,000 
Over $20,000 but not over $200,000 $973 plus 6.85% of excess over $20,000 
Over $200,000 but not over $500,000 $13,303 plus 7.85% of excess over $200,000 
Over $500,000 $36,853 plus 8.97% of excess over $500,000 
  
Head of Household 

Taxable Income Tax 
Not over $11,000 4.00% of taxable income 
Over $11,000 but not over $15,000 $440 plus 4.50% of excess over $11,000 
Over $15,000 but not over $17,000 $620 plus 5.25% of excess over $15,000 
Over $17,000 but not over $30,000 $725 plus 5.90% of excess over $17,000 
Over $30,000 but not over $250,000 $1,492 plus 6.85% of excess over $30,000 
Over $250,000 but not over $500,000 $16,562 plus 7.85% of excess over $250,000 
Over $500,000 $36,187 plus 8.97% of excess over $500,000 



 

 Page 6                                             Handbook of NYS and Local Taxes

Household Credit.  The household credit (HHC) provides 
nonrefundable tax relief to taxpayers whose deductions and 
exemptions do not bring their taxable income to zero.  The credit 
varies by income and filing status and increases for each 
additional exemption allowed for federal tax purposes.  Also, the 
value of the credit decreases as income rises, phasing down to 
zero at $28,000 of federal adjusted gross income (FAGI) for 
single taxpayers and $32,000 for all others. 
 
Real Property Tax Circuit Breaker Credit.  Qualified resident 
taxpayers may claim the refundable real property tax circuit 
breaker credit in the amount of 50 percent of excess real property 
taxes, determined according to the level of household gross 
income, subject to certain specified conditions and limits.  Total 
household gross income cannot exceed $18,000.  The maximum 
credit is $375 when at least one member of the household is age 
65 and over, and $75 when all members of the household are 
under age 65.  The amount of the credit decreases as household 
income increases.  Only one credit is allowed per household. 
 
Child and Dependent Care Credit.  New York provides a credit 
for child and dependent care expenses equal to various 
percentages of the corresponding federal credit.  The credit equals 
110 percent of the federal child and dependent care credit for 
taxpayers with incomes under $25,000.  Percentages ranging from 
110 percent to 20 percent apply for those with incomes from 
$25,000 to $65,000.  Taxpayers with incomes over $65,000 
receive 20 percent of the federal credit.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Credits 

A supplemental income tax for the purpose of recapturing the 
benefits conferred to taxpayers through tax brackets with rates 
lower than the maximum rate is also amended for tax years 2009 
through 2011.  The supplemental tax applies to all taxpayers with 
NYAGI over $100,000.  Once taxpayers’ NYAGI exceeds 
$150,000, all of their taxable income within the 6.85 percent tax 
bracket becomes effectively subject to a flat 6.85 percent tax rate.  
For taxpayers with taxable income in the 7.85 percent bracket, the 
recapture of rates below the 7.85 percent bracket begins when 
NYAGI is $300,000 and is completed when NYAGI equals 
$350,000.  The recapture of rates below the 8.97 percent rate 
begins when NYAGI is $500,000 and is completed when NYAGI 
equals  $500,000, with an overall limitation on tax liability equal 
to the highest tax rate multiplied by taxable income.  Thus, for tax 
years 2009-2011, a flat rate of 8.97 percent of taxable income will 
apply for taxpayers with NYAGI in excess of $550,000. 
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Maximum 
New York 

Credit 

Income for 
Start of 

Phase-out 
(MFJ) 

 
 
 

Others 

 
Income 
Cut-off 
(MFJ) 

 
 
 

Others 

Taxpayers With 1 Child $915 $21,460 $16,450 $40,545 $35,535 

Taxpayers With 2 Children $1,511 $21,460 $16,450 $45,372 $40,363 

Taxpayers Age 25-64 Without Children $137 $12,490 $7,480 $18,470 $13,460 

Taxpayers With 3 or More Children $1,700 $21,460 $16,450 $48,362 $43,352 

Credit amounts and maximum incomes are indexed annually for 
inflation.  Taxpayers must subtract any HHC used from their 
EITC.  Taxpayers who do not use the EITC receive the full HHC. 

Enhanced Income Credit for Certain Non-custodial Parents.  
Certain non-custodial parents may claim an enhanced EITC in 
lieu of the regular State EITC.  To qualify, claimants must be age 
18 or over, have a minor child with whom they do not reside, 
have a child support order in effect for at least half the tax year, 
and must have made the required support payments.  The 
enhanced EITC is equal to the greater of: a) 20 percent of the 
Federal EITC that the taxpayer would otherwise be able to claim 
for one qualifying child as a custodial parent or, b) 2.5 times the 
Federal EITC for taxpayers without qualifying children.  The 
credit is available only to residents and is fully refundable.  
Unlike the regular EITC, there is no HHC offset. 
 
Empire State Child Credit.  Resident taxpayers may claim a 
refundable credit equal to the greater of: a) $100 times the 
number of children ages 4-16 who qualify for the Federal child 
credit or, b) 33 percent of the allowed Federal child credit for 
children ages 4-16. 

The credit is refundable to resident taxpayers. 
 
Earned Income Credit.  New York allows an earned income tax 
credit (EITC) equal to 30 percent of the corresponding federal 
credit.  The credit is refundable to residents and part-year 
residents.  The EITC varies with family size, is based on earnings, 
and phases out as income increases, as follows for tax year 2010: 
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College Tuition Credit.  Resident taxpayers can claim a refundable credit 
for college tuition expenses paid on behalf of the taxpayer, the taxpayer’s 
spouse, or dependents to enroll or attend qualifying in- or out-of-state 
institutions of higher education.  Like the deduction, the refundable credit 
is available only for undergraduate study.  The maximum amount of 
qualified tuition expenses is $10,000 per student.  For taxpayers with 
allowable expenses of $5,000 or more, the credit equals 4 percent of 
allowed tuition expenses.  Taxpayers with expenses of less than  
$5,000 may claim a credit equal to the lesser of allowed tuition expenses 
or $200.  Resident taxpayers choose between either the credit or the 
itemized deduction described above. 
 
Investment Credit.  New York also allows a 4 percent investment credit 
(7 percent for research and development property) for certain business 
investments in qualifying facilities.  As part of this credit, there is a credit 
for the rehabilitation of historic barns, which equals 25 percent of 
qualified expenditures for the rehabilitation of historic barns in 
New York State.  A credit exists for certain property used in commercial 
production.  There is also an employment incentive credit (EIC) available 
to small businesses such as partnerships, S corporations, LLCs, LLPs and 
sole proprietorships whose owners pay tax under the personal income 
tax. 
 
Resident Credit.  Full-year and part-year residents may claim credit for 
income taxes paid to other states and their political subdivisions or 
provinces of Canada. 
 
Farmers' School Tax Credit.  The agricultural school property tax credit 
provides a refundable credit for farmers with a phase-out of the credit for 
taxpayers with NYAGI in excess of $200,000.  Taxpayers may subtract 
principal payments on farm indebtedness from NYAGI in order to 
calculate the income limitation. 
 
Emerging Technology Company Credits.  Tax credits are allowed for 
qualified emerging technology companies that invest in research and 
development in New York State.  They include an employment credit, a 
capital credit, and new credits for research and development property, 
research expenses, and high-technology training expenditures.        
 
Excelsior Jobs Program.  The Excelsior Jobs Program replaces the 
Empire Zones Program as the primary economic development program in 
New York.  Four new credits are offered in certain strategic industries.  
The credits include:  capital investment, research and development costs, 
job creation, and real property taxes.  
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Long-Term Care Insurance Credit.  A credit for 20 percent of long-term 
care insurance premiums is allowed.  Unused amounts may be carried 
forward to future tax years.  
 
Empire State Film Production Credit.  A refundable credit applies for 
qualified film production companies.  The credit equals 30 percent of 
qualified production costs allowable beginning in the year that the film 
is completed.  If the amount of the credit is under $1 million, it is 
claimed in the taxable year in which the film is completed.  If the 
amount of the credit is at least $1 million but less than $5 million, then 
it must be claimed over a two-year period, with half the credit claimed 
each year.  Lastly, if the amount of the credit is $5 million or more, it 
must be claimed over a three-year period, with one-third of the credit 
claimed each year.  The entire amount of excess credit that is not 
applied to reduce tax liability in the year in which the credit is claimed 
is refundable.  Productions such as documentaries, news programs, 
game shows, sports, soap operas, and adult entertainment do not 
qualify for the credit.     
 
Volunteer Firefighters and Ambulance Workers Credit.  Resident 
taxpayers serving as active volunteer firefighters or volunteer 
ambulance workers may claim a $200 refundable credit.  To receive the 
credit, the taxpayer must be an active volunteer for the entire taxable 
year and must not be receiving a real property tax exemption relating to 
such service.  In the case of a husband and wife filing jointly who both 
qualify for the credit, the amount of the credit is $400. 
 
Other credits apply for: 
•     taxes on accumulation distributions; 
•     residential investments in solar electric generating equipment; 
•     investments in “green buildings;” 
•     purchases of defibrillators;  
•     employment of persons with disabilities; 
•     nursing home assessments paid directly by taxpayers; 
•     special additional mortgage recording tax paid on 
      certain mortgages; 
• brownfield cleanup and redevelopment; 
• security officer training; 
• land conservation easements; 
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Minimum Tax 

Business  
Taxpayers 

The personal income tax also applies, at the individual level, to 
persons receiving income from business entities in which they 
perform services or hold an interest.  For example, while sole 
proprietorships do not pay an entity-level tax, they pay tax on 
their businesses’ net earning.  Also partnerships do not pay an 
entity-level tax, but individual partners pay tax on their 
distributive share of the partnership’s income. 
 
New York State allows for the formation of limited liability 
companies (LLCs) and limited liability partnerships (LLPs).  
Based on existing New York law and practice, the LLC/LLP 
statute borrows heavily from  provisions of the New York 
Partnership Law and Business Corporation Law.  LLCs are 
classified as partnerships for New York State purposes.  LLCs 
and LLPs, whether foreign or domestic, with New York source 
income must pay an annual filing fee based on their prior year’s 
New York source gross income.   

• low-income housing; 
• purchases of clean heating fuels;  
• companies that provide accessible taxicabs for individuals 

with disabilities; 
• rehabilitation of historic properties; 
• historic homeownership rehabilitation; 
• Empire State commercial production; 
• alternative fuel vehicle refueling property; and 
• biofuel production. 
 
In tax years 2010 through 2012, the aggregate amount of certain 
tax credits that taxpayers may use and refund is limited to 
$2 million.  Nonrefundable credits that exceed the $2 million cap 
will be accumulated in the temporary deferral nonrefundable 
payout credit.  This new credit may first be claimed in the 2013 
tax year and unused amounts can be carried forward indefinitely.  
Refundable credits in excess of $2 million will be accumulated in 
the temporary deferral refundable payout credit.  Taxpayers may 
utilize 50 percent of the amount of the refundable credit in the 
2013 tax year, 75 percent of the remaining balance in 2014 and 
the entire remainder of the credit in the 2015 tax year. 
 
A six percent minimum tax applies to certain federal tax 
preferences.  Taxpayers subject to the minimum tax pay this tax 
in addition to the regular income tax.  The law permits a “specific 
deduction” equal to $5,000, and a deduction for regular income 
tax. 

Credit Deferral 
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The LLC/LLLP fee ranges from $25 for those with New York 
source gross income of $100,000 or less to $4,500 for LLCs with 
New York source gross income greater than $25 million.  
 
The annual filing fee imposed on LLCs and LLPs extends to 
general partnerships.  However, general partnerships whose New 
York source gross incomes is less than $1 million dollars are  
exempt from the fee. 
 
Additionally, single-member LLCs, which are disregarded  
entities for Federal income tax purposes, are required to remit a 
filing fee of $25. 

Nonresident 
Taxpayers 

Nonresident individuals, estates and trusts pay New York State 
income tax if they derive income from New York sources.  They 
first compute a base tax using the same rates, exemptions, 
deductions, and most credits applicable to residents.  Next, 
nonresidents multiply this base tax by the ratio of New York 
source NYAGI to total NYAGI as a resident.  The result ensures 
that nonresidents pay tax on income earned or derived within 
New York. 

Withholding &  
Estimated Tax 

Employers are required to withhold and remit personal  
income taxes on wages, salaries, bonuses, commissions similar 
income.  Employers must remit withholding liability within three 
business days after each payroll once the cumulative amount of 
liability reaches $700.  Certain small businesses and educational 
and health care organizations may make their withholding  
remittance within five business days, and employers with less 
than $700 of withheld tax can remit it on a quarterly basis. 
 
Employers that withheld $100,000 or more during the previous 
year are required to participate in the PrompTax  program 
whereby filing and payment of withholding is done electronically.  
Filers not meeting this criteria may apply to voluntarily  
participate in the program.  Under PrompTax, tax is due three 
business days following a payroll date.  For educational 
organizations and voluntarily participating health care providers, 
tax is due eight business days following a payroll date. 
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As under federal law, New York requires withholding of personal  
income tax on lottery winnings of $5,000 or more.  Tax is 
withheld at the highest tax rate in effect. 
 
New York residents, part-year residents and nonresidents with 
New York-source income, must make payments of estimated tax 
under certain conditions.  Flow-through entities, such as 
partnerships and S corporations, with nonresident partners and 
shareholders must make payments of estimated tax on behalf of 
such members, unless they  certify to the Department that such 
members are voluntarily complying with the law.  Also, 
nonresidents with gain from certain sales of New York real 
property must pay estimated tax before the property deed may be 
transferred to the buyer. 
 
The general estimated tax rules apply if they expect to owe at 
least $300 of tax (after withholding and credits) for the current tax 
year and they expect their withholding and credits will not equal 
at least: a) 90 percent of the current-year tax, or b) 100 percent of 
the prior-year tax (110 percent if NYAGI exceeds $150,000).  
Penalties apply for failure to accurately estimate and pay tax for 
any of the installments.  Taxpayers must make up to four 
installment payments (i.e., April 15, June 15, September 15, and 
January 15) depending on when income is earned. 
 
Certain tax return preparers, facilitators of refund anticipation 
loans, and facilitators of refund anticipation checks must register 
with the Tax Department.  A tax return preparer who meets the 
definition of a commercial tax return preparer is required to pay 
an annual fee of $100.  There are certain requirements and 
restrictions on tax return preparers and facilitators, plus 
significant penalties, for those who do not comply. 
 
For additional information, please see the following publications: 
 
•  Publication 36, General Information for Senior Citizens 
 and Retired Persons for Tax Year 2009 
 
•  Publication 80, General Income Tax Information for New 
 York State Residents for Tax Year 2009 
 
•  Publication 88, General Tax Information for New 
 York State Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents for Tax 
 Year 2009 

Tax Preparer 
Registration Fee 
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•  Publication 99-IND, General Information on New York 
State and New York City Income Tax Credits for 
Individuals for Tax Year 2009 

 
•  New York’s College Savings Program: Imagine the  
 Returns (Office of the State Comptroller) 
 
•  Publication NYS-50, Employer’s Guide to Unemployment 
 Insurance, Wage Reporting, and Withholding Tax 
 
•  Publication 58, Information for Income Tax Preparers for  
 Tax Year 2009   
 
Typically, general business corporations pay taxes computed  
under the corporation franchise tax.  Separate taxes apply to 
banks and insurance companies, including anyone who buys 
insurance from an insurance company that is not authorized to 
write insurance in New York State.  The utility corporations tax 
applies to certain transportation and transmission corporations 
(except airlines), utility companies, telecommunications services,  
and agricultural cooperatives.  In addition, as under federal law, 
there is a tax on the unrelated business income of nonstock not-
for-profit corporations.  Finally, a gross receipts tax applies to 
petroleum businesses. 
 
The Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) surcharge  
applies, at a rate of 17 percent, to business taxes otherwise due 
(except the petroleum business tax), after deduction of credits and 
allocable to the 12-county Metropolitan Commuter 
Transportation District.  This region includes the City of New 
York, Long Island and the mid-to-lower Hudson River Valley.  
The MTA surcharge remains in effect through tax years ending 
before December 31, 2013. 
 
This tax is imposed on corporations for the privilege of exercising 
their corporate franchise in New York.  It applies to general 
business corporations not taxed under another article of the Tax 
Law.  
 
Corporations compute tax under four bases, and pay tax on the 
base yielding the highest liability.  An additional tax applies 
based on the corporation’s subsidiary capital allocated to New 
York, at a rate of 0.09 percent.   

Business Taxes 

Corporation 
Franchise Tax  
(Article 9-A) 

Tax Bases & Rates 
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The four bases include: 1) a tax  on allocated entire net income 
(ENI) with rates that vary, 2) a tax of 0.15 percent on business and 
investment capital allocated to New York after deduction for  
short- and long-term liabilities (the maximum tax on this alternative 
equals $350,000 for manufacturers and $10 million ($1 million 
beginning in tax year 2011) for all others), 3) a 1.5 percent tax on 
the alternative minimum taxable base, or 4) a separate minimum tax 
at fixed dollar amounts. 
 
The entire net income base equals federal taxable income modified 
for income and deduction items that New York treats differently.  
For example, New York’s tax base excludes subsidiary income 
items and does not allow deductions directly and indirectly 
attributable to subsidiary capital. 
 
The tax rate on allocated ENI varies depending upon the taxpayer’s 
particular circumstances.  Most taxpayers are subject to a rate of 7.1 
percent.  Small business taxpayers with an ENI base of $290,000 or 
less are subject to a rate of 6.5 percent, which rises in stages to 
7.1 percent as ENI increases to $390,000.  Qualified New York 
manufacturers and qualified emerging  technology companies 
(QETCs) are subject to a 6.5 percent rate. 
 
The fixed dollar minimum tax is based on the taxpayer’s New York 
receipts as follows:  

If the taxable period does not equal a full year, the taxpayer can 
reduce the fixed dollar minimum tax by 50 percent for a period of 
6 months or less, and 25 percent for a period of more than six 
months but less than or equal to 9 months.   
 
New York uses a business income allocation formula based solely 
on  receipts.  Taxpayers allocate investment income by a formula 
that reflects the New York presence of the issuers of the obligations 
generating such investment income. 

NY Receipts C Corporations S Corporations 
Less than           $100,000 $25 $25 
$100,000 -  $250,000 $75 $50 
$250,000 -  $500,000 $175 $175 
$500,000 -  $1,000,000 $500 $300 
$1,000,000 -  $5,000,000 $1,500 $1,000 
$5,000,000 -  $25,000,000 $3,500 $3,000 
$25,000,000 -  Over $5,000 $4,500 
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The alternative minimum taxable income base equals entire net  
income plus certain federal items of tax preference and 
adjustments.  The tax rate is 1.5 percent.  Taxpayers may use a 
net operating loss deduction (NOLD) in computing alternative 
minimum taxable income.  This deduction is comprised of all net 
operating losses (NOLs) existing at the start of the 1994 tax year 
and any accumulated thereafter.  The law limits the deduction to 
90 percent of alternative minimum taxable income without regard 
to the NOLD. 
 
General business corporations that file as S corporations for 
federal tax purposes may also elect S status for New York State 
franchise tax purposes.  This election requires the shareholders to 
report their proportionate share of S corporation income, gain, or 
loss and deductions on their personal income tax returns.   
Businesses that are eligible S corporations for federal tax 
purposes, but do not make the election to be a New York S 
corporation,  are deemed to be New York S corporations if 
investment income for the current taxable year is more than half 
of federal gross income for the year. S corporations are subject 
only to the fixed dollar minimum tax at the corporate entity level, 
but at different rates than for C corporations. 
 
New York provides tax incentives in the form of tax credits,  
deductions, and allocation formula adjustments.  These  
incentives are intended to encourage business investment and 
economic development within the State.   Major provisions 
include: 
 
• An investment tax credit (ITC) of 5 percent of the first 

$350 million of investment, plus 4 percent for investment 
over that amount, for certain eligible property including 
equipment or  buildings used in broker/dealer and associated 
activity and  certain property used in film production.  The 
ITC is refundable for new businesses and certain; 

 
• An ITC on research and development property at an optional 

rate of 9 percent; 
 
• An ITC for rehabilitation of historic barns based on 25 

percent of qualified rehabilitation expenditures; 

S Corporations 

Tax Incentives 



 

 Page 16                                             Handbook of NYS and Local Taxes

• An employment incentive credit (EIC) available to employers 
claiming for the ITC and adding jobs.  A sliding scale inks 
larger EIC amounts with larger employment increases; 

 
• An Excelsior Jobs Program credit consisting of components 

for capital investment, research and development costs, job 
creation, and real property taxes; 

 
•  Credits for employers who employ disabled individuals, or 

pay premiums for employee long-term care insurance;    
 
• Alternative energy credits for the production of biofuel and       

alternative fuel vehicle refueling property placed in service in 
New York State; 

 
• Credits for construction of green buildings and the clean-up 

and redevelopment of brownfields; 
 
• Credits designed to encourage the growth of qualified       

emerging technology companies (QETCs) in New York State.  
The employment tax credit equals $1,000 for each employee 
hired over a base year figure.  The capital tax credit equals 10 
or 20 percent of the investment in a QETC, depending upon 
how long the investment is held.  The QETC facilities, 
operations, and training credit has three components:  an 18 
percent ITC on research and development property; a 9 
percent credit on qualified research expenses; and a credit for 
high-technology training expenses, up to $4,000 per employee 
per year;  

 
• Refundable credits to encourage film, television, and 

commercial productions; 
 
• Various special methods for allocating receipts from certain 

types of services, such as advertising, publishing and printing, 
broadcasting and motion pictures, and financial services; and 

 
• The exclusion from entire net income of interest income and 

gains from subsidiary capital. 
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Unrelated Business 
Income Tax (UBIT) 
(Article 13) 

Corporation & Utility 
Tax (Article 9) 

In tax years 2010 through 2012, the aggregate amount of certain 
tax credits that taxpayers may use and refund is limited to 
$2 million.  Nonrefundable credits that exceed the $2 million cap 
will be accumulated in the temporary deferral nonrefundable 
payout credit.  This new credit may first be claimed in the 2013 
tax year and unused amounts can be carried forward indefinitely.  
Refundable credits in excess of $2 million will be accumulated in 
the temporary deferral refundable payout credit.  Taxpayers may 
utilize 50 percent of the amount of the refundable credit in the 
2013 tax year, 75 percent of the remaining balance in 2014 and 
the entire remainder  of the  credit in the 2015 tax year. 
 
The UBIT is imposed on the income of tax-exempt organizations 
derived from the conduct of a trade or business, at a rate of  9 
percent of the unrelated business income allocated to New York.  
The tax base equals federal unrelated business taxable income 
with certain modifications.  Taxpayers may subtract net operating 
losses and tax credits.  A fixed dollar minimum tax of 
$250 applies.  The tax does not apply to corporations subject to 
the corporate franchise tax, certain nonprofit organizations 
providing insurance, and certain income derived from operating 
licensed games of chance. 
 
This tax applies taxes to a variety of specialized businesses and 
imposes initial taxes and fees on domestic and foreign 
corporations.  Historically, with the exception of the special 
additional mortgage recording tax credit, taxpayers could neither 
earn, nor apply, credits against their utility tax liability.  However, 
various credits have been added in recent years for alternative 
fuels vehicle refueling property, employment of disabled 
individuals, “power for jobs,” security officer training, brownfield 
cleanup and redevelopment, and long-term care insurance. 
 
This tax applies to domestic (in-state) corporations.  The rate 
equals 0.05 percent of the total amount of the par value of 
authorized capital stock. The rate for shares without par value 
equals 5 cents per share.  The tax also applies to any subsequent 
increases in authorized stock or other changes in capital structure.  
Domestic corporations must pay a minimum tax of $10.  State 
and national banks, trust companies, building, mutual loan, 
accumulating fund and corporative associations do not pay this 
tax. 

Credit Deferral 

Organization Tax; 
Taxes on Changes 
in Capital (§ 180) 
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License and 
Maintenance Fees on 
Foreign (Out-of-State)  
Corporations (§ 181) 
 

Franchise Tax on 
Transportation and 
Transmission 
Corporations and 
Associations (§ 183) 

The Tax Law imposes a license fee on the value of capital stock 
employed within New York on out-of-state corporations for the 
privilege of exercising its corporate franchise or conducting  
business in New York.  A rate of 0.05 percent applies to issued 
par value capital stock.  A rate of 5 cents per share applies to 
capital stock  without par value.  A minimum payment of $10 is 
required for the first payment.  The fee also applies to any  
subsequent changes in the capital share structure or increases in 
the amount of capital stock  employed in New York State. 
 
The law also imposes an annual maintenance fee of $300 on all 
foreign corporations incorporated outside New York, including  
foreign S corporations.  Foreign corporations may credit this fee 
against any franchise tax due (except Sections 180 or 181).  Most  
foreign banks, national banking associations, federal savings 
banks, federal savings and loans associations and most insurance 
companies and building and loans associations do not pay these 
fees. 
 
This tax is imposed on corporations, joint stock companies, or 
associations principally engaged in transportation, telephone, or 
other transmission businesses.  The tax equals the highest of the 
following calculations:  1) 1.5 mills on each dollar of net value of  
issued capital stock; 2) if the share of dividends paid on capital 
stock is 6 percent or more, 0.375 mills per dollar of par value for 
each one percent of dividends paid; or 3) $75.  Trucking and 
railroad companies are subject to the corporate franchise tax 
under Article 9-A unless they had elected to remain taxable under 
the corporate utility tax. 
 
Section 183 exempts foreign taxicab and omnibus corporations 
which do not own or lease property in New York and which make 
fewer than 12 trips into the State in a calendar year.  Omnibus and 
taxicab corporations (other than those making fewer than 12 trips) 
must pay tax under the corporate franchise tax when the motor 
fuel tax exceeds 2 cents per gallon.  Similarly, this tax does not 
apply to aviation  companies, also taxable under the corporate 
franchise tax. 
 
This tax is imposed on corporations, joint stock companies, or 
associations principally engaged in transportation, local  
telephone business, or other transmission businesses.  It applies a 
rate of  0.375 percent on gross earnings from all sources in the 
State.  This tax also applies to an allocated portion of receipts 
from interstate and international activities (except for railroads).   

Additional Franchise 
Tax on Transportation 
and Transmission  
Corporations and 
Associations (§ 184) 
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Franchise Tax on 
Agricultural  
Co-operatives (§ 185) 

Gross Receipts Tax on  
the Furnishing of Utility  
Services (§ 186-a) 

The gross receipts tax, as it applies to truckers and railroads that 
elected to remain taxable under this tax (instead of electing to be 
taxed under the corporate franchise tax), is also 0.375 percent. 
 
In the case of local telephone businesses, receipts from sales for 
ultimate consumption from:  1) inter-LATA, interstate, or 
international telecommunications services, and 2) 30 percent of 
intra-LATA toll telecommunications services, including interregion 
regional calling plan services, are excluded from the tax. 
 
Foreign taxicabs and omnibuses which do not own or lease property 
in New York (except the vehicle), and which make fewer than 12 
trips into the State in a calendar year, must pay an annual tax equal 
to $15 per trip rather than the tax on gross earnings. 
 
This tax applies to farmers, fruit growers and other like agricultural 
corporations operated on a co-operative basis.  The tax equals the 
greatest of the following: 1) one mill per dollar of the net value of 
issued capital stock allocated to New York (based on gross assets); 
2) for corporations with stock without nominal or par value, if 
dividends paid equals six percent or more of the amount paid  in on 
such stock, 1/4 mill of each percent of dividends paid; or 3) $10. 
 
The Section 186-a tax on receipts from sales of utility services is 
imposed on transportation and distribution services to residential 
customers only, at a rate of 2 percent. 
 
Some businesses selling telecommunications services are subject to 
tax under Section 186-a on their non-telecommunications receipts 
as well as the Section 186-e tax on telecommunications services 
(below).  However, this is limited to those businesses selling 
telecommunications services which are also subject to the 
supervision of the Public Service Commission. 
 
Section 186-e imposes a tax of 2.5 percent on receipts from the sale 
of telecommunications services.  Telecommunications  
services are defined to include services provided by wires, cables, 
satellites, fiber-optics, lasers, microwaves, radiowaves or similar 
media.  Receipts from telecommunications services are allocated to 
New York if the call originates or terminates in this State and is 
charged to a New York service address.   

Tax on  
Telecommunications  
Services (§ 186-e) 
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Petroleum Business  
Tax (Article 13-A) 

The metropolitan transportation business tax surcharge is 
computed based on receipts from calls in the MCTD. 
 
An exclusion exists for sales for resale, where the sale is made to 
either an interexchange carrier, a local carrier or a  
facilities-based cellular carrier.  Telecommunications companies 
must include sales for resale to companies other than an 
interexchange carrier or a local carrier in their Section 186-e tax 
base.  However, the law allows a credit to purchasers that 
subsequently resell these services. 
 
Section 186-f imposes a monthly  surcharge of $1.20 per wireless 
device that has two-way wireless communications capabilities 
over a public switched network, if the customer’s place of 
primary use of the wireless device is in New York State. 
 
 
The petroleum business tax (PBT) is a privilege tax on petroleum 
businesses operating in New York State.  This tax is in addition to 
other corporate taxes (e.g., corporation franchise tax) that may be 
due.  Imposition of the tax occurs at different points in the 
distribution chain depending upon the type of petroleum product. 
Motor fuel (gasoline) becomes subject to tax at the initial point in 
the New York distribution chain (e.g., importation), while 
automotive-type diesel motor fuel becomes taxable upon the first 
otherwise non-exempt sale or use of the product in New York.  
Nonautomotive diesel motor fuel and residual petroleum product 
generally become taxable on the final sale or use of the product in 
New York.   
 
The PBT also applies to motor carriers on the fuel they purchase 
outside New York State, but consume in the operation of motor 
vehicles within the State.  The carriers pay this tax, with their fuel 
use tax, at a per gallon rate equal to the rate for motor fuel or 
automotive-type diesel motor fuel.  This tax is administered with 
the fuel use tax.  Publication 908 provides the current rate 
structure as well as  exemptions, reimbursements and credits as of 
January 1, 2010.  The tax rates shown include the basic tax and 
the supplemental tax for the period.  The cents-per-gallon rates 
very by product and/or transaction type.  Also, the law requires 
annual indexing of the tax rates to reflect changes in product 
prices.   

Public Safety 
Communications 
Surcharge 
(§186-f) 
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Exemptions, 
Reimbursements and 
Credits 

Bank Tax (Article 32) 

PBT excludes sales of kerosene, crude oil, liquefied  petroleum 
gas, compressed natural gas, and E-85 from the tax.  It also 
excludes sales of petroleum for export, sales of fuel oil for 
residential use, sales to government entities for their own use, 
sales of fuel oil to exempt organizations for use in exempt  
purposes, and sales to manufacturers (fuel oil) and farmers 
(diesel) for use in production.  There is also a partial rate  
reduction for sales of B-20 (biodiesel) fuel.  In addition, the PBT 
provides exemptions, reimbursements and credits based on  
certain uses of petroleum.  
 
Also, there is a full reimbursement of the PBT paid on diesel  
motor fuel and residual oil used in mining and/or extracting  
processes.  Finally, there is a full reimbursement for diesel motor 
fuel and residual fuel oil used in passenger commuter ferries and 
buses engaged in local transit, and gasoline used by farmers in 
production. 
 
A franchise tax applies to banking corporations doing 
business in the State.  This tax consists of the highest of:   
1) 7.1 percent of allocated entire net income, 
2) 3 percent of such income without regard to certain  

specified exclusions, 
3) $250, or  
4)  one-tenth of 1 mill upon each dollar of taxable assets 

 allocated to New York.  
 
This asset alternative applies to institutions with a net worth  
exceeding 5 percent of total assets.  It also provides lower tax 
rates for institutions having both mortgages comprising 33 pecent 
or more of total assets and lower net worth ratios. 
 
Banks conducting business both inside and outside New York 
allocate their income and assets by applying a three-factor 
allocation formula consisting of payroll, deposits and receipts.  
For the tax on entire net income and the tax on assets, the deposits 
and receipts factors have a weight of 40 percent each, and the 
wage factor has a weight of 20 percent.  In addition, the law  
discounts the numerator of the wage  factor by 20 percent,  
making the maximum allocation  percentage 96 percent.  For the 
3 percent tax on allocated  entire net income without exclusions, 
the three factors have equal weighting, and no discount applies to 
the numerator  of  the wage factor.  New York applies a single 
receipts factor formula for certain banks that provide   
management services to investment companies. 
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Banks are able to claim many of the same tax credits as 
corporation franchise taxpayers.  Banks are also subject to many 
of the same modifications to entire net income which apply 
under Article 9-A, although at different rates. 
 
Article 33 imposes tax on insurance corporations.  Life insurers 
are subject to a franchise tax, which includes an income tax 
component as well as a tax on  premiums.  Non-life insurers are 
subject only to a premiums tax.      
 
A franchise tax is imposed on life insurance companies.  There 
are two components of the tax:  1) a tax computed on the higher 
of four bases plus a tax on subsidiary capital, and 2) a tax 
computed on gross direct premiums written on State-located 
risks or residents in the State. 
 
The first component of the tax is determined from one of four 
alternative bases.  An insurance corporation’s tax liability for 
this component is based on the alternative that results in the 
largest tax, plus an additional 0.08 percent tax on subsidiary 
capital allocated to New York.  The four bases are: 
 
• 7.1 percent of allocated entire net income with the allocation 

percentage equal to the weighted average of the New York 
premium percentage (weighted as nine) and the New York 
payroll percentage (weighted as one); 

 
• 0.16 percent of allocated business and investment capital; 
 
• 9 percent of allocated entire net income plus officers’ salaries 

basis.  The basis equals 30 percent of the sum of entire net 
income plus officers’ salaries and other compensation minus 
$15,000, and any net loss for the reported year; or 

 
• a minimum tax of $250. 
 
The second component of the franchise tax is a tax on gross 
premiums, less return premiums thereon, written on risks located 
or resident in New York.  Premiums written by corporations 
licensed as life insurers, including premiums on accident and 
health contracts, are taxed at the rate of 0.7 percent.   

Insurance Tax (Article 33) 
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The total tax equals the sum of the largest of the four alternative 
bases, plus the tax on subsidiary capital, and the sum of the 
premiums based taxes.  However, this total cannot exceed  
2 percent of taxable premiums.  This cap represents the maximum 
tax on life insurers.  In addition, the total tax cannot be less than 
1.5 percent of taxable premiums, which constitutes a floor 
amount of tax for life insurers. 
 
A premiums tax is imposed on non-life insurance corporations.  
The tax is imposed on gross premiums, less return premiums, 
written on risks located or residing in New York.  Premiums 
written on accident and health contracts are taxed at a rate of 1.75 
percent.  Premiums written on all other non-life risks are taxed at 
a rate of two percent.  Non-life insurers are also subject to a 
minimum tax of $250. 
 
A special premiums tax is imposed on captive insurance  
companies.  Captive insurers are subject to tax on gross  
premiums, less return premiums, written on risks located in New 
York.  The  top tax rate is 0.4 percent on direct premiums and 
0.225 percent on reinsurance premiums.  A minimum tax of 
$5,000 applies.   
 
Insurance companies are able to claim some of the same tax 
credits as corporation franchise taxpayers.  However, they are 
also able to claim certain credits specific to the insurance tax: 
 
• A credit is available for 90 percent of retaliatory taxes paid to 

other states; 
 
• A credit is available for 100 percent of investments in 

certified capital companies (“CAPCOs”); and 
 
• A credit is available for taxes imposed under the Insurance 

Law of foreign and alien fire insurers. 
 
The direct writings tax equals 3.6 percent tax on premiums paid 
by persons who buy or renew insurance policies from companies 
not authorized to do business in New York. These persons must 
file a return and pay the tax within 60 days of the end of the 
calendar quarter in which any policy purchased or renewed takes 
effect. Federal, New York State and local governments, the 
United Nations and foreign governments are exempt.  

Insurance-Direct Writings 
Tax (Article 33-A) 
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Sales & Use Tax 
(Article 28) 

The tax exempts insurance premiums purchased from 
unauthorized carriers through a New York-licensed excess line 
broker, because the Insurance Law taxes those premiums at the 
same rate of 3.6 percent.  Where insurance covers risks located 
or residing both in and out of New York, the Commissioner of 
Taxation and Finance regulates allocation of the tax. 
 
For additional information on business taxes, please see the 
following: 
 
• Publication 20, New York State Tax Guide for New 

Businesses 
• Publication 112, General Information on New York State Tax 

Credits for Article 9-A Businesses 
• Publication 908, Fuel Tax Rates (Motor Fuel and Petroleum 

Business Taxes) 
 
New York State imposes a 4 percent sales and compensating use 
tax (sales tax).  Cities and counties are authorized by the Tax 
Law to impose a local sales tax in one-half percent increments, 
up to a maximum of 3 percent.  All counties and 20 cities impose 
a local sales tax.  Of these localities, 6 cities (including New 
York City) and 52 counties have sought and received legislative 
authority to impose tax at additional rates, ranging from 0.125 
percent to 1.75 percent.  Towns and villages may not impose a 
sales tax, although they often share in the distribution of county 
sales tax proceeds. 
 
The State also imposes an additional sales tax rate of 0.375 
percent in the 12 counties which comprise the Metropolitan 
Commuter Transportation District (MCTD).  Publication 718 
shows combined State and local sales tax rates in each county 
and in cities that impose sales tax. 
 
The sales tax on gasoline and highway use of diesel fuel is 
imposed at a fixed rate of 8 cents-per-gallon (8.75 cents-per-
gallon in the MCTD). 
 
An additional 11 percent tax applies to charges for passenger car 
rentals in the MCTD.  Outside the MCTD, the car rental tax 
equals 6 percent  Also an additional 5 percent State tax applies to 
information and entertainment services heard over the telephone 
(e.g., “900” numbers).  These taxes are in addition to the regular 
State and local sales tax on such services. 

Tax Bases & Rates 
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A $1.50 per unit per day fee on hotel occupancy in New York 
City applies in addition to the sales tax on the rent for hotel 
occupancy.  
 
The sales tax applies to retail sales of tangible personal property 
(unless specifically exempted) and to certain services.  A 
compensating use tax applies to the use within the State of 
tangible personal property and services purchased outside the 
State.  Specifically, the sales tax is applied  
 
• tangible personal property (unless specifically exempt); 
 
• gas, electricity, refrigeration and steam, and telephone 

service; 
 
• selected services; 
 
• food and beverages sold by restaurants, taverns, and caterers; 
 
• hotel occupancy; and 
 
• certain admission charges and dues. 
 
New York’s retail sales tax is a destination tax.  The point of 
delivery or the point at which possession is transferred by the 
vendor to the purchaser determines the rate of tax to be collected.  
Sales delivered outside New York State are exempt from tax. 
 
Sales and use taxes do not apply to sales or rentals of real 
property.  The Tax Law also exempts purchases for resale, most 
sales to or by the federal and New York State governments, 
charitable organization and certain other exempt organizations, 
sales of most food for home consumption, and sales of 
prescription and nonprescription medicines.  As of   
October 1, 2010 the exemption for clothing items costing less 
than $110 will be suspended.  Starting April 1, 2011 the 
exemption will be reinstated but only for items costing below 
$55.  Then, beginning after March 31, 2012, the exemption for 
items priced less than $110 will be reinstated in full.   
 
Also, the sales tax does not apply to most services.  Examples of 
services not subject to New York State sales  tax include capital 
improvements to real property, medical care, education, and 
personal and professional services. 

Exemptions 
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Vendor Registration 
and Payment 

New York State and its localities exempt machinery, equipment, 
parts, tools, and supplies used directly and predominantly in 
manufacturing property for sale.  The State and its localities also 
exempt fuels and utility services used in manufacturing property 
for sale. 
 
An exemption also applies to tangible personal property used 
directly and predominantly in experimental research and 
development activity.  Also, gas, electricity, refrigeration and 
steam (and related services) used or consumed directly and 
exclusively for research and development is exempt from sales 
and use taxes. 
 
The sales tax does not apply to purchases of materials  
incorporated into buildings owned by an industrial development 
agency (IDA).  Recipients of IDA funding may also claim 
exemption for certain other purchases  made as agents of an IDA. 
 
Every person who sells tangible personal property or taxable  
services must register with the Department before commencing 
business.    Generally, sales tax vendors must file quarterly tax 
returns with the Department.   
 
Also, vendors whose taxable receipts total $300,000 or more in 
any quarter must file monthly returns by the 20th day of the 
following month.  Vendors who remit tax of $3,000 or less per 
year may file an annual return. 
 
Sales tax vendors with an annual sales and use tax liability  
exceeding $500,000 or with an annual liability for prepaid sales 
tax on motor fuel and diesel motor fuel exceeding $5 million, are 
required to participate in the Department’s electronic funds  
transfer (EFT) program.  Other vendors may request to participate 
in the EFT program on a voluntary basis. 
 
Vendors who file  quarterly or annually and who file their sales 
tax return  in a timely manner and remit full payment of tax due 
with the return are entitled to claim a vendor collection credit 
equal to 5 percent of the State and local sales tax  remitted.  The 
maximum credit is $200 each quarter. 
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Excise Taxes 

For additional information, please see the following: 
 
• Publication 750, A Guide to Sales Tax in New York State  
 
• Publication 850, New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax 

Quick Reference Guide 
 
• Publication 718 Series (718, 718-A,718-C, 718-EZ, 718-F, 
      718-R, 718-S) which shows tax rates by jurisdiction and by 

product. 
 
 
New York State imposes various excise taxes.  These include  
cigarette and tobacco products taxes, motor fuel taxes and fees,  
alcoholic beverage taxes, highway/fuel use taxes, pari-mutuel 
(horse racing) taxes, and the boxing and wrestling tax. 
 
New York collects the cigarette excise tax through the sale of tax 
stamps to licensed agents.  Agents must affix the tax stamps to 
each package of cigarettes before sale can occur in New York 
State.  The tax rate is $4.35 per pack of 20 cigarettes.  New York 
City also imposes a separate excise tax of $1.50 per pack, which 
brings the combined per pack tax rate in the City to $5.85.  In 
addition to the excise tax, a prepaid sales tax is paid by the agent 
at the time the cigarette tax stamp is purchased. 
 
Distributors of other tobacco products such as cigars, chewing 
tobacco, pipe, and loose tobacco pay a 75 percent excise tax on 
the wholesale price.  Little cigars are taxed at the same rate as 
cigarettes.  The tobacco products tax on snuff is computed at the 
rate of $2.00 per ounce, and a proportionate rate on any fractional 
parts of an ounce.  Distributors include persons importing, 
manufacturing or possessing for sale such products in New York. 
 
Sellers of cigarettes and other tobacco products including 
operators of vending machines, must pay an annual registration 
fee for every location in the State where they sell product.  
Registration fees are based on the annual gross sales of the 
vendor. Vendors must also display valid permits.  

Cigarette & Tobacco 
Products Taxes & 
Fees (Article 20) 
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Motor Fuel Tax 
(Article 12-A) 

Alcoholic Beverage  
Tax (Article 18) 

The alcoholic beverage tax imposes liquor, beer, and wine taxes 
at various rates upon registered distributors and noncommercial 
importers of alcoholic beverages.  The table below shows tax 
rates for different beverages: 

Article 12-A imposes an 8 cents per gallon tax on diesel motor 
fuel at the point of first taxable sale or use in New York.  An  
8 cents per gallon tax also applies to other motor fuel, including 
gasoline, upon first import into or production within New York. 
 
The law requires the pass-through of these taxes to consumers.  It 
also exempts from tax purchases by federal, New York State and 
local government agencies.  Full exemptions from tax are also 
provided for sales of E-85 and compressed natural gas.  A partial 
20 percent rate reduction is provided for sales of B-20 (biodiesel) 
fuel. 
 
An exporter of motor fuel must be registered as a licensed 
distributor in the jurisdiction to which the fuel is exported in 
order to qualify for an export credit or refund. 
 
The motor fuel tax generally does not apply to fuel used for  
non-highway purposes.   For example, fuel on which tax is 
already paid is eligible for a refund when it is used exclusively to 
operate road building machinery, for farming or commercial 
marine purposes, or  in vehicles operated on  rails or tracks. 
 
Certain bus operators engaged in local transit service and non 
public school operators in the State may claim full refund of 
motor fuel and diesel fuel taxes paid.  The law allows partial 
refunds of three cents per gallon for motor fuel taxes (one cent for 
diesel motor fuel) paid by operators of other private buses and 
taxicabs. 
 
 

Alcoholic Beverage Tax Rates as of September 1, 2010 

Liquors (over 2% Alcohol) $1.70 $6.43  

Liquors (2% - 24% Alcohol) 67 cents $2.53  

Beer  14 cents 

Wine and Wine Coolers  30 cents 

Cider Over 3.2% Alcohol (Still or Carbonated)  3.79 cents  

Alcoholic Beverages Rate Per Liter Rate per Gallon 
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Highway/Fuel Use  
Taxes 
(Articles 21 and 21-A) 

Highway Use Tax (HUT) 

Highway Use Tax  
Certificates 

Fuel Use Tax 

The Tax Law imposes three separate highway and fuel use taxes, 
as described below.  Exemptions from these taxes include motor 
vehicles owned and operated by governmental entities, fire  
companies, farmers, U.S. mail delivery, and household goods  
movers.  The highway use tax also exempts buses. 
 
The HUT applies to any motor vehicle with a gross weight over 
18,000 pounds, or where elected, the tax applies to trucks with an 
unloaded weight of over 8,000 pounds and tractors with an 
unloaded weight in excess of 4,000 pounds.  Rates increase  
according to vehicle weight, and apply to miles traveled on public 
highways; however, the tax does not apply to mileage on the  
toll-paid portion of the New York State Thruway. 
 
Highway use tax certificate of registration (C of R), issued for not 
less than one year, identify vehicles subject to the highway use 
tax.  C of R fees equal $15 per truck or tractor for initial  
registrations and $15 per truck or tractor renewals.  Each trailer 
used to haul automotive fuels requires a $15 C of R.  A special 
$25 single-trip C of R, available to a carrier no more than 10 
times per year, exempts a carrier from the HUT for a single  
72-hour period.  A separate permit must be obtained for the fuel 
use tax to exempt the carrier for a single 72-hour period. 
 
New York conforms to the International Fuel Tax Agreement 
(IFTA).  New York-based carriers operating in more than one 
IFTA jurisdiction must obtain an IFTA license and two decals 
(costing $4 each) for each qualified vehicle. 
 
The fuel use tax applies to fuel bought outside New York State by 
truck, tractor and bus carriers, but used while traveling on 
New York highways.  It reduces opportunities for such carriers to 
buy motor fuel outside New York to avoid State and local taxes. 
 
The fuel use tax consists of two components:  the fuel tax 
component and the sales tax component.  Carriers also report the 
petroleum business tax on fuel used, but not purchased, in the 
State on the same return as the fuel use tax.  Carriers may claim 
credits or refunds for New York taxes paid on fuel used outside 
the State. 
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Boxing & Wrestling 
Exhibitions Tax 
(Article 19) 

New York’s fuel use tax provisions also conform to those of the  
IFTA.  The tax generally applies to vehicles with a gross weight  
over 26,000 pounds.  A special $25 single fuel use tax trip permit 
is available which exempts IFTA licensed carrier from the New 
York fuel use taxes for a single 72 hour period for that vehicle. 
 
For additional information on highway and fuel use taxes, please 
see the following: 
 
• Publication 538, A Guide to Highway Use Tax and Other New 

York State Taxes for Carriers 
 
• Publication 536, International Fuel Tax Agreement—A Guide 

for New York State Motor Carriers 
 
The Racing, Pari-Mutuel Wagering and Breeding Law imposes a 
tax on pari-mutuel wagering at horse racetracks and at off-track 
betting (OTB) parlors throughout the State for the privilege of 
conducting pari-mutuel wagering on horse races.  The  
Department of Taxation and Finance administers this tax.  Each 
racing association or corporation pays to the State a portion of  
the commission withheld from wagering pools.  Tax rates vary by 
type of race and wager.  State horse racing revenues also include 
the racing admission tax, breakage, nonprofit racing association 
franchise fees, and revenue from uncashed tickets. 
 
The Tax Law imposes a boxing and wrestling exhibitions tax on 
the total gross receipts of promoters of professional or amateur 
boxing, sparring and wrestling matches.  The tax rate equals  
three percent of gross receipts.  Gross receipts include not only 
receipts from admissions charges but also receipts from  
broadcasting and movie rights.  However, live broadcast rights 
and closed-circuit broadcast rights of matches and events held in 
New York are included in gross receipts subject to tax only to the 
extent that they relate to transmissions and presentations received 
or exhibited in the State.   
 
Each tax (admission charges,broadcasting) is capped at $50,000 
per match or exhibition resulting in a combined maximum  
imposition of $100,000.  Exemptions apply for certain military 
matches, amateur scholastic and collegiate events, and official 
U.S. Amateur and Olympics events 

Pari-Mutuel & Horse Racing 
Taxes (Racing, Pari-Mutuel 
Wagering & Breeding Law) 
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Waste Tire 
Management Fee 
(Environmental 
Conservations Law 
Section 27-1913) 

Hazardous Waste 
Generation Tax 
(Environmental 
Conservation Law 
Section 27-0923) 

New York State imposes a waste tire management fee of $2.50 
per tire on the retail sale of new tires in the State.  Retailers are 
allowed to retain 25 cents of the tire fee they collect to cover their 
administrative costs.  The fee is imposed under the Environmental 
Conservation Law, but is administered and collected by the Tax 
Department.  The waste tire fee expires on December 31, 2013. 
 
The Tax Department also administers a tax on the generation of 
hazardous waste.  The tax is imposed at $27 per ton of hazardous 
waste that is disposed of in a landfill on the site where the waste 
was generated, or that was removed from the generation site and 
then deposited into a landfill; $9 per ton of hazardous waste that 
was removed from the generation site for incineration; $2 per ton 
of hazardous waste that was incinerated at the generation site; and 
$16 per ton of hazardous waste that was removed from the 
generation site for treatment or disposal, but not in a landfill or by 
incineration. 

Property Transfer 
Taxes 

New York imposes two property transfer taxes:  the estate tax and 
the real estate transfer tax.   
 
The estate tax is based on the maximum federal credit for state 
death tax paid as it existed prior to 2002.  The credit was repealed  
after 2004 and replaced with a deduction for state death tax paid.  
The federal deduction offsets nearly 50 percent of the New York 
estate tax for estates of decedents dying after 2004. Taxable  
estates under $1 million are exempt from tax, and returns and  
payments are due within 9 months of the decedent’s death.  
 
The real estate transfer tax applies to the transfer of any interest in 
real property, including a deed, where the consideration is over 
$500.  The tax is due within 15 days of the conveyance.  The tax 
equals $2.00 for each $500 or additional fraction of $500.  The 
tax is to be paid by the grantor (i.e., the seller).   
 
However, if the grantor has failed to pay the tax or is exempt 
from the tax, the grantee has the duty to pay the tax.  The grantor 
and the grantee are jointly and severally liable for the tax. 
 
The tax also applies to transfers of economic interest such as 
shares in cooperatively owned apartments.  Other such taxable 
interest transfers include long-term leaseholds and transfers of 
controlling interest in entities which have an interest in real  
property. 

Estate Tax 
(Article 26) 

Real Estate Transfer 
Tax (Article 31) 
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Also, an additional tax of 1 percent of the consideration paid for 
residences selling for $1 million or more (the so-called “mansion 
tax”) is imposed upon the transfer of a one, two, or three-family 
house.  The person receiving the real property interest, the grantee 
(usually the buyer), must pay this additional tax.  If the grantee is 
exempt, the grantor (usually the seller) must pay the tax. 
 
The real estate transfer tax rate is reduced by 50 percent for 
qualifying transfers of real property to, or acquisition of real 
property by, a real estate investment trust (REIT) upon its initial 
formation, or to existing REITs before September 1, 2011.   
 
In addition, certain local governments are authorized to impose 
real  estate transfer taxes.  The “Local Taxes” section describes 
these usually the seller) must pay the tax.   
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Local Taxes 

Local governments in New York levy taxes on real property, 
which is defined as land and any permanent structures attached to 
it.  No taxes apply to other types of property, and no State 
property tax is levied.  In addition, the State Constitution 
prohibits the imposition of taxes on intangible property.  In 
general, separate property taxes apply for school districts and for 
county/municipal government. 
 
The property tax applies to the market value of land and 
structures as determined by local property tax assessors.  Market 
value may be determined by sales prices of similar properties, 
replacement cost, or potential to produce rental income 
(commercial property). 
 
State law requires the assessment of property values at a uniform 
percentage of full value.  This means, for example, that residential 
and business property must be assessed at the same percentages 
of value.  Exceptions apply in New York City and Nassau 
County, which can assess each of four different classes of 
property differently.  The law requires that assessors maintain tax 
rolls which show the full value of each property and the uniform 
percentage of value for their assessing units. 
 
Local governments are responsible for setting tax rates, expressed 
as the amount to be paid on each $100 or $1,000 of assessed 
property value.  In general, they determine how much revenue 
needs to be raised (known as the levy), and divide this amount by 
the total assessed value of all property to determine the applicable 
tax rate. 
 
Many types of exemptions are available, as authorized by State 
law and implemented and administered at the local level.  Among 
the most common are those for veterans, low-income senior 
citizens, farmers, clergy, and non-profit educational, religious and 
charitable organizations. 

Property Taxes (Real 
Property Tax Law) 
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Also, the School Tax Relief Program (known as “STAR”) 
provides an exemption against residential school property taxes of 
at least $50,000 for senior citizens with 2009 incomes under 
$79,050 and at least $30,000 for all other homeowners.  Actual 
maximum amounts in each county vary depending upon the 
median residential property value in each county compared to the 
Statewide median.  Also, the maximum income for the enhanced 
senior exemption is indexed annually for inflation.  Beginning 
with the school tax rolls for the 2010-11 school year, basic STAR 
exemptions will be eliminated for  homeowners with income over 
$500,000. 
 
The  Office of Real Property Tax Services, now part of the Tax 
Department, is responsible for assisting local governments in 
their property tax administration, especially in ensuring that 
assessments are consistent and equitable both within and across 
taxing jurisdictions.  Additional information may be obtained 
through its website (www.orps.state.ny.us). 
 
Selected publications include: 
 
• How the Real Property Tax Works 
• STAR Program, Questions and Answers 
 
 
Local governments are authorized to impose sales and 
compensating use taxes.  These taxes are generally levied by 
counties and are largely linked to the State sales tax base and 
administered by the Department of Taxation and Finance, which 
distributes the local portion to local governments.  Cities and 
counties may choose to impose a selective sales tax on certain 
items instead of conforming with the overall State sales tax base.  
These include utility services, “restaurant” food and drink, hotel 
room occupancy, and certain amusement charges. 
 
The maximum allowed rate is three percent, with approval by the 
State Legislature required for rates in excess of three percent.  
Within counties, cities may impose sales taxes that pre-empt a 
portion of the county tax, meaning that the municipal tax is in 
place of rather than in addition to the county tax. 
 
Currently, 6 counties levy sales taxes of up to 3 percent, while  
51 counties and New York City have combined local rates in 
excess of 3 percent.   
 
 

Sales Taxes  
(Tax Law  
Articles 28 and 29) 
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Local Hotel  
Occupancy Taxes 

Local Racing 
Admissions Taxes 

School districts that are partly or wholly within cities with 
populations under 125,000 may impose sales tax on utility 
services at a rate up to 3 percent.  This results in a wide range of 
tax rates on these services, depending upon whether the services 
are subject to State sales tax, and the local rate exercised 
 
Finally, the cities of Lockport, Long Beach, Newburgh, Niagara 
Falls, and Port Jervis have elected to impose a selective sales tax. 
 
For additional information, please see the following: 
 
• Publication 750, A Guide to Sales Tax in New York State  
 
• Publication 850, New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax 

Quick Reference Guide 
 
• Publication 718 Series (718, 718-A,718-C, 718-EZ, 718-F, 

718-R, 718-S) which shows tax rates by jurisdiction and by 
product 

 
 
 
 
Cities other than New York and villages may impose selective 
gross receipts taxes on sales of utility services.  These are in 
addition to sales taxes, and are locally administered.  The 
maximum rate is 1 percent of the gross income of utilities 
operating in their jurisdiction.  Sixty cities  other than New York 
City and 365 villages impose these taxes, with Buffalo, Rochester 
and Yonkers authorized by the State to impose the tax at a 3 
percent rate 
 
 
Most counties impose locally administered hotel occupancy taxes. 
In addition, many cities, towns and villages are also authorized to 
impose occupancy taxes. 
 
 
The New York State Racing, Pari-Mutuel Wagering and Breeding 
Law provides for locally administered admissions taxes on horse 
race meetings,  The rates vary by type of facility and locality. 
    
 
 

Excise Taxes 
 
Local Utility Gross 
Receipts Taxes (Section 
20-b of General City Law 
and 5-530 of Village Law) 
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Property Transfer 
Taxes 
 
Mortgage Recording 
Tax   
(Tax Law Article 11) 

 
 
 
New York imposes a tax on the recording of mortgages on real 
property located in New York.  In addition, New York City, 
Yonkers, and various counties are authorized to impose similar 
taxes.  Exemptions apply for certain types of mortgages, such as 
those involving the New York State or federal governments.  The 
tax is payable to the recording office of the county in which the 
mortgaged property is located.   
 
The following mortgage recording taxes could apply, varying by 
county: 
 
• a basic tax equal to 50 cents per $100 of mortgage debt or 

obligation secured; 
 
• an additional tax of 25 cents per $100, (30 cents per $100 for 

counties within the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation 
District) with a $10,000 exemption for one or two-family 
residences; and 

 
• a special additional tax equal to 25 cents per $100. 
 
The three distinct taxes reflect the fact that revenues from each 
tax are generally dedicated to various State and local 
transportation and housing programs, or other specified local 
governmental purposes. 
 
Overall,  
 
• 21 counties impose the basic and special additional taxes for  

a rate of 75 cents per $100; and  
 
• 41 counties impose the basic, additional, and special 

additional taxes for a rate of $1 per $100 ($1.05 in the  
MCTD). 
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The following table shows the local taxes that apply in certain jurisdictions: 

County/City Local Tax Rate Combined Tax Rate (1) 
      
New York City $1 per $100 for all mortgages under $500,000. $2.05 per $100. 
  $1.125 per $100 for residential mortgages of $500,000 or more. $2.175 per $100. 
  $1.75 per $100 for  other mortgages of $500,000 or more. $2.80 per $100. 
      Broome, Cortland, Hamilton, Herkimer, 
Lewis, Schoharie, Sullivan, Yates  

25 cents per $100. $1.00 per $100. 

      
Albany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, 
Essex, Genesee, Rensselaer, 
Schenectady, Steuben, Warren, Wayne, 
Wyoming  

25 cents per $100 $1.25 per $100. 

      
Rockland, Westchester 25 cents per $100 $1.30 per $100. 
      Columbia, Greene 50 cents per $100 $1.25 per $100. 

Yonkers 50 cents per $100 $1.80 (2) 

(1) County/City Rate combined with State tax rates. 
(2)     Includes Westchester County tax. 
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Real Estate Transfer 
Tax (Various Articles) 

Tax rates currently in each county as of December 1, 2009 are 
listed on the mortgage recording tax return, Form MT-15. 
 
Along with New York City (discussed in the next section) several 
local jurisdictions impose real estate transfer taxes in addition to 
the State tax.  The local taxes are substantially linked to the State 
tax base.  The taxes and rates include: 

Erie County 
(Article 31-A) 

$5 per $1,000 of consideration, paid by the 
grantor (seller) 

Broome County 
(Article 31-C) 

50 cents per $500 of consideration, paid by the 
grantor (seller) 

Tompkins County 
(Article 31-G) 

$1 per $500 of consideration, paid by the grantor 
(seller) 

Towns in the Peconic Bay Region* 
(Article 31-D) 

2.0 percent of consideration, paid by the grantee 
(buyer) 

Town of Red Hook (Dutchess 
County)  
(Article 31-A-1) 

2.0 percent of consideration, paid by the grantee
(buyer) 

Town of  Warwick (Orange County) 
(Article 31-F) 

0.75 percent of consideration, paid by the grantee
(buyer) 

Columbia County 
(Article 31-A-2) 

$1 per $500 of consideration, paid by the grantor 
(seller) 

Essex County 
(Article 31-B-1) 

$1 per $500 of consideration, paid by the grantor 
(seller) 

City of Mount Vernon 
(Article 29) 

1.0 percent of consideration in excess of 
$100,000, paid by the grantor (seller) 

City of Yonkers 
(Code of the City of Yonkers,  
Chapter 15, Article V) 

1.5 percent of consideration when consideration 
exceeds $25,000, paid by grantor (seller) 

• The “Peconic Bay Region” includes the towns of East Hampton,  
Riverhead,  Shelter Island, and Southhampton and Southhold in Suffolk 
County. 



 

Handbook of NYS and Local Taxes  Page 39 

Personal Income  
Tax (Tax Law 
Article 30 and NYC  
Administrative Code) 

Credits 

New York City Taxes 

New York City imposes many of the same taxes imposed at the 
State level.  Some of them, such as the personal income and sales 
taxes, are generally linked to State law and require approval by 
the State Legislature to be amended.  These taxes are also 
administered by the New York State Department of Taxation and 
Finance.  Almost all other taxes, such as the property and various 
business and excise taxes are administered by the New York City 
Finance Department, although most cannot be amended except by 
State law. 
 
A tax is imposed on residents and part-year residents of the City.  
Using the same filing statuses as under the State income tax, the 
starting point is State taxable income, with rates for tax year 2010 
ranging from 2.907 percent to 3.876 percent. 
 
Like the State tax, an add-on minimum tax applies to tax 
preferences subject to the State minimum tax, at a rate of  
2.85 percent. 
 
Similar to the State income tax, a nonrefundable household credit 
is allowed for low and moderate-income taxpayers.  Also similar 
to State law, an earned income credit equal to 5 percent of the 
federal credit applies, though unlike the State credit, no household 
credit offset is required.  
 
Also, a nonrefundable credit is allowed to sole proprietors and 
partners for between 100 percent and 23 percent (the credit 
declines as taxable income increases between $42,000 and 
$142,000) of the City’s unincorporated business tax (UBT) which 
they paid as members of entities subject to the UBT. 
 
In addition, a refundable credit is allowed to many New York 
City residents as part of the State’s STAR program.  If a 
taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income less IRA distributions is 
$250,000 or less, the credit equals $125 for married couples filing 
jointly, and $62.50 for all others in 2010.   
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New York City personal income taxpayers whose household 
gross income is not greater that $30,000 are allowed a refundable 
credit for the qualified child care expenses for children under the 
age of four.  The credit equals 75 percent of the amount of the 
New York State Child and Dependent Care Credit for taxpayers 
with household gross income of $25,000 or less and phases down 
to zero percent for taxpayers with income above $30,000. 
 
The New York City income tax does not permit a credit for taxes 
paid to other jurisdictions. 
 
New York City imposes many of the same taxes on businesses 
that the State imposes.  Unlike the State, it also has an 
unincorporated business tax.  The New York City Department of 
Finance administers the City’s business taxes. 
 
A tax is imposed on unincorporated businesses, such as sole 
proprietorships and partnerships.  The tax is generally based on 
the firm’s federal gross income, at the rate of 4 percent, after 
allowance of a $10,000 exemption.  Compensation paid to a 
proprietor or partner for services or the use of capital in excess of 
$10,000 per partner is not deductible.   
 
Unincorporated businesses allocate income to New York City by 
using a three-factor formula allocation method based on property, 
payroll and receipts unless that method does not fairly and 
equitably reflect the taxpayer’s income.  Taxpayers who properly 
used the books and records method for the past two taxable years 
immediately preceding January 1, 2004, which consist of 12 
months each, may elect to continue to use that method for each of 
its taxable years before January 1, 2012.   
 
However, starting in the 2009 tax year, New York City will begin 
phasing in a single receipts factor allocation formula, to be 
completed in the 2018 tax year.  In 2009, the receipts factor is 
weighted at 40 percent while the other two factors are weighted at 
30 percent each.  Manufacturers will retain their current double-
weighted sales factor until the 2011 tax year, when the phase-in 
schedule weights the receipts factor at 53 percent.  Starting in that 
year, manufacturing corporations will use the same allocation 
formula as all other industries.   
 
A credit eliminates the tax for businesses with taxable incomes of 
$85,000 or less, and phases out for businesses with taxable 
incomes of $135,000 or more.  Other credits apply for sales tax 

Unincorporated Business 
Tax (UBT) 

Business Taxes 
(NYC Administrative 
Code) 
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General Corporation  
Tax (GCT) 

on certain machinery and equipment used in production, and 
relocation and employment assistance (see below).  Returns are 
generally due on April 15 and estimated taxes must be paid. 
 
Like the State corporate franchise tax, the general corporation tax 
(GCT) starts with federal corporate income and applies to most 
incorporated businesses except banks and regulated utilities, 
which are taxed under separate taxes.  However, unlike federal 
and State law, New York City does not allow for the  
S corporation election, meaning that all corporations are subject 
to the GCT.   
 
Also, unlike federal and State law, no unrelated business income 
tax applies.  Insurance companies are not subject to GCT. 
 
Four taxes apply, with corporations paying the highest tax.   
They include: 
 
• a tax on allocated entire net income at a rate of 8.85 percent; 
 
• a tax on allocated business and investment capital at the rate 

of 0.15 percent, with tax not to exceed $1 million; 
 
• a tax of 8.85 percent on 15 percent of entire net income plus 

the amount of salaries and compensation paid to any person 
who owned more than 5 percent of the taxpayers capital 
stock; or 

 
• a fixed dollar minimum tax ranging from $25 to $5,000 

depending on the corporation’s New York City receipts. 
 
Small businesses are subject only to the entire net income or fixed 
dollar minimum tax bases.  In addition, taxpayers are subject to 
an additional tax of 0.075 percent of allocated subsidiary capital. 
 
Starting in the 2009 tax year, New York City began phasing in a 
single receipts factor allocation formula, to be completed in the 
2018 tax year.  In 2010, the receipts factor is weighted at  
46 percent while the other two factors are weighted at 27 percent 
each.  Manufacturers will retain their current double–weighted 
sales factor until the 2011 tax year, when the phase-in schedule 
weights the receipts factor at 53 percent.  Starting in that year, 
manufacturing corporations will use the same allocation formula 
as all other industries.   
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Various credits apply, including: 
 
• Industrial Business Zone (IBZ) employment credit equal to  

$1,000 for each full-time employee at eligible premises in the 
IBZ; 

 
• Relocation and Employment Assistance (REAP) credit for 
      businesses that relocate to Manhattan  above 96th Street or the 

other boroughs; 
 
• Real Estate Escalation Credit for firms that relocate to leased 

premises in New York City from outside the State and create 
jobs, based on increased property taxes generated by their 
relocation; 

 
• Employment Opportunity Relocation Costs Credit for 

businesses that bring industrial or commercial jobs to New 
York City from outside the State, equal to a maximum of 
$300 per commercial job and $500 per industrial job; 

 
• Biotechnology credit for expenses incurred by emerging 

biotech companies; 
 
• A credit for the portion of the UBT paid by corporations that 

are partners in entities subject to the UBT; and 
 
• New York City is authorized to allow a credit for certain film 

production activity in the City.  It equals 5 percent of 
qualified production costs. 

 
Returns are generally due May 15, and payment of estimated tax 
is required. 
 
Like the GCT and State corporate franchise tax, the bank tax 
starts with federal income.  Four taxes apply, with corporations 
paying the highest tax.  They include: 
 
• a tax on allocated entire net income at a rate of nine percent; 
 
• a tax on allocated assets at a rate of 1/10 of a mill per dollar,  

except for alien banks, which are subject to a tax on allocated 
issued capital stock of 2.6 mills per dollar; 

 

Bank Tax 
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Sales & 
Compensating  
Use Tax (Tax Law 
Article 29 and 
NYC Administrative 
Code) 

• A tax on  alternative allocated entire net income at a rate of 
three percent; or 

 
• A fixed dollar minimum of tax $125. 
 
“Alternative entire net income” equals entire net income minus 
the partial deduction for income from subsidiary capital, and 
minus a percentage of interest from New York State and federal 
obligations.   
 
Banks allocate  income to New York City using the same 
formula that applies for the State bank tax.  However, banks 
providing certain services to investment companies will be able 
to use an allocation formula that phases into a single sales factor 
formula beginning in 2018.  In 2010, the formula is 16 percent 
payroll, 52 percent receipts, and 32 percent deposits. 
 
Banks may be eligible for some of the credits available under 
the GCT.  Returns are generally due March 15, and payment of 
estimated tax is required. 
 
 
 
In general, the sales tax in New York City follows the State 
sales tax.  The City imposes a rate of 4.5 percent, which when 
combined with the State 4.0 percent rate and the 0.375 percent 
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) tax, 
yields a combined rate in New York City of 8.875 percent. 
 
New York City also imposes its 4.5 percent sales tax on  
selected services not subject to State tax.  These include credit 
rating and reporting,  interior decorating and design services, 
and personal services such as beauty, barbering, massage, and 
health salons. 
 
As part of the sales tax, New York City also imposes an  
increased sales tax rate on parking or garaging motor vehicles.  
The rate is six percent (with an additional eight percent in  
Manhattan).  As a result, the combined State-City-MCTD tax 
rate on parking and related services is 10.375 percent (18.375 
percent in Manhattan).  Manhattan residents can obtain an  
exemption from the 8 percent additional tax for their personal  
vehicles. 
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Excise & 
Miscellaneous  
Taxes (NYC 
Administrative  
Code) 

New York City imposes and administers many of the same types 
of excise and other taxes levied at the State level. 
 
Cigarettes – $1.50 per pack of 20 cigarettes. 
 
Hotel Occupancy – Ranges from 50 cents per day for rooms 
renting for $10 to $19.99 per day, to $2 per day for rooms 
renting for more than $40  or more per day.  An additional tax of 
5.875 percent of the daily rent charge is also imposed.  
Permanent residents (occupants for 180 days or more) are  
exempt. 
 
Alcoholic Beverages – 12 cents per gallon on beer and 26.4 cents 
per liter on liquors with alcohol content greater than 24 percent by 
volume.  There is no City tax on wines. 
 
Commercial Rents – 3.9 percent, effectively, of rent of $250,000 
or more.  Exemptions apply for governments and certain non-
profit organizations. Also, a sliding scale credit applies to the tax 
on base rent under $300,000. 
 
Real Property Transfers – Similar to the State Real Estate 
Transfer Tax (RETT), New York City imposes Real Property 
Transfer Tax (RPTT) on sellers of real estate.  For most 
residential property, the rate is 1 percent where the consideration 
is $500,000 or less, and 1.425 percent where the consideration is 
more than $500,000.  For all other property, the respective rates 
are 1.425 percent and 2.625 percent. 
 
Insurance Companies— A 2 percent tax applies on all fire 
insurance premiums of foreign and alien fire insurance 
companies.  Domestic insurance companies exempt. 
 
Utilities — A tax of 2.35 percent (1.17 percent for bus 
companies) applies to the gross income of utilities and to the 
gross utility income of vendors of utility services.  Credits are 
allowed for sales tax paid on machinery and equipment used in 
production, and for relocation and employment assistance.   
Vendors of utility services are subject to UBT or GCT on their 
net income not subject to the utility tax. 
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Taxicab License Transfers— A tax of five percent of 
consideration is imposed on each transfer of a taxicab license 
(“medallion”) or interest therein.  This tax is collected by the Taxi 
and Limousine Commission. 
 
Additional information about New York City taxes is available at 
the Department of Finance Website, www.nyc.gov/finance. 
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City of Yonkers Taxes  

Yonkers  is authorized by  State law to impose personal income 
tax on residents, and an earnings tax on its nonresidents with 
wage or self-employment income from working in Yonkers.  The 
resident income tax equals 10 percent of State tax liability after 
nonrefundable credits.  The nonresident earnings tax equals 0.50 
percent of wages and self-employment earnings, after an 
allowable exclusion of $3,000 which phases out when earnings 
exceed $30,000.  The Department of Taxation and Finance 
administers both taxes. 

Income and  
Earnings Taxes 
(Tax Law  
Articles 30-A and 
30-B) 
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MTA (Metropolitan Transportation 
Authority) Taxes 

Mobility Tax (Tax 
Law Article 23) 

A tax is imposed on employers and self-employed individuals 
engaged in business within the Metropolitan Commuter 
Transportation District (MCTD).  The Department of Taxation 
and Finance administers this tax. New York State then distributes 
the mobility tax revenue to the MTA. 
 
The tax on employers equals 0.34 percent of the payroll expense 
for employees stationed within the MCTD.  The employer’s 
payroll expense must be greater than $2,500 in a calendar quarter 
before the tax applies.  The same tax rate applies to individuals, 
including partners in partnerships and members of limited 
liability companies that are treated as partnerships, on their net 
earnings from self-employment allocated to the MCTD.  The tax 
does not apply if the individual’s allocated net earnings from self-
employment are $10,000 or less for the tax year. 
 
The mobility tax contains few exemptions except for an agency or 
instrumentality of the United States, the United Nations, or an 
interstate agency or public corporation created under an 
agreement or compact with another state or Canada.  However, 
public school  districts will have their mobility tax completely 
reimbursed by New York State in the following State fiscal year. 
 
Employers must report and pay the mobility tax for each calendar 
quarter by the last day of the month following the end of the 
quarter.  However, employers (other than public school districts) 
who are required to enroll in the PrompTax program for 
withholding tax purposes are required to make mobility tax 
payments on the same dates that they remit withholding tax. 
Self-employed individuals make estimated payments of mobility 
tax on the same date as the non-PrompTax employers.  Most 
personal income tax estimated tax rules apply to the mobility tax 
payments by the self-employed.  A final reconciliation of the 
prior year’s mobility tax payments by self-employed individuals 
is made by the 30th day of the fourth month following the close of 
the tax year (April 30th for calendar year taxpayers). 
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Medallion Taxicab 
Ride Tax  (Tax Law 
Article 29-A) 

The Tax Law imposes a 50 cent tax for every taxicab ride that 
originates in New York city and terminates anywhere in the 
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District.  The tax is paid 
by owners of medallion yellow taxicabs in New York City.  It is 
presumed that every taxicab ride that originates in the City is 
subject to the fee unless the contrary can be shown. 



 

   

For more information concerning the data provided in this publication, please contact: 
 

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance 
Office of Tax Policy Analysis 

W.A. Harriman State Campus Office 
Albany, New York 12227 

Phone (518-457-3187) 
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