Contact Information:
Press Office: (800) 260-7313

Southern Tier Regional Economic Development Council Announces the Appointment of Four New Members

(April 04, 2014)

Southern Tier Regional Economic Development Council Announces the Appointment of Four New Members

The Southern Tier Regional Economic Development Council (STREDC) today announced the appointment of four new members: Michael G. Field, Mike Lane, Kevin McLaughlin, and Martha Sauerbrey. The new members will fill four vacant seats on the Council and work together, under the leadership of Co-chairs Harvey Stenger and Tom Tranter, to build on the region's recent success in the competition and advance it's strategies for economic growth and job creation.

“The Southern Tier REDC continues to progressively work toward their economic vision with the addition of four new members,” said Lieutenant Governor Robert J. Duffy, Chair of the Regional Economic Development Councils. “These new appointees bring with them a wealth of knowledge and combined experience on the economic development of the Southern Tier, as demonstrated by their past successes. I commend the Southern Tier REDC for constantly seeking out strategies that will spur job creation and economic growth to benefit citizens and families of the region for years to come.”

The new members were officially welcomed at today's STREDC meeting at Binghamton University.

“We are thrilled to welcome Michael, Mike, Kevin, and Martha to the Southern Tier REDC, and we look forward to working with them and the rest of the STREDC to advance our regional economic development goals,” said STREDC Co-chairs Harvey Stenger, President, Binghamton University and Tom Tranter, President & CEO, Corning Enterprises. “The combined expertise and experience of these new members will strengthen the Council, helping us to further implement STREDC’s strategic plan for building a stronger, more vibrant economic future.”

Michael G. Field is the President of the Operations and Engineering Division for The Raymond Corporation. Mr. Field is currently involved with the New York Battery and Energy Storage Technology (BEST) Consortium. Prior to Raymond, he served as Vice President of Global Program Management for Brooks-PRI Automation in Chelmsford, MA, which leads the semiconductor automated material handling industry. Mr. Field began his career with Carrier Corporation in Syracuse, NY where he had a progression of product development leadership positions.

Mike Lane was first elected to the Tompkins County Legislature in 1993. In 2013, Mr. Lane served on the on the new Economic Development Committee. He has also served on the Facilities and Infrastructure Committee, County’s Government Operations Committee, and the Tompkins County Planning and Environmental Quality Committee. Mr. Lane was mayor of the Village of Dryden for five terms and Village Trustee before that (1979-1991).

Kevin McLaughlin was most recently the Regional Director, Empire State Development Southern Tier, and President of the Empire State New Market Corporation. Mr. McLaughlin served as a Director of the National Development Council where he worked with state agencies, municipalities, and industrial development agencies on identifying development opportunities, structuring incentive packages, creating loan programs and establishing Community Development Block Grant initiatives.

Martha Sauerbrey has served as the deputy chair of the Legislature for the last four years. Ms. Sauerbrey was most recently employed by the Tioga County Chamber of Commerce as president and CE, and stepped down from the chamber. Her experience in government includes 10 years working for Senator Tom Libous. She also was the Empire Zone Coordinator for Tioga County.

To learn more about each regional council and their economic development plans, visit