Contact Information:
Press Office: (800) 260-7313

State Consolidated Funding Applications Due June 16 by 4 p.m.

Western New York Regional Economic Development Council reminds eligible applicants that up to $750 million in economic development resources is available through one application
(May 29, 2014)

State Consolidated Funding Applications Due June 16 by 4 p.m.

The Western New York Regional Economic Development Council (WNYREDC) met on Thursday in Fredonia and made a final call for businesses, educational institutions, local governments, not-for-profit groups and other stakeholders across the five-county Western New York region, which includes Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie and Niagara counties, to apply for state funding through the New York State Consolidated Funding Application (CFA). Up to $750 million in economic development resources from 33 state agency funding programs is available. The deadline for CFA submissions is 4 p.m. on Monday, June 16. The CFA is available at

“We are looking for projects that create jobs, are ready to implement and will support the economic development priorities of our strategic plan for Western New York,” said Satish K. Tripathi, President of the University at Buffalo and Regional Council Co-chair. “Because of the Governor’s leadership, we have the tools and resources needed to invest in our future. And, with the inception of the new Regional Council approach and the CFA process, Western New York has invested millions in strategic projects that build on our unique strengths and are aligned with our region’s priorities.”

“The time is now for anyone interested in doing businesses in our five-county region to submit your Consolidated Funding Application,” said Howard A. Zemsky, Managing Partner at Larkin Development Group and Regional Council Co-chair. “Momentum is building in our region thanks to Governor Cuomo’s Regional Council initiative and the CFA process and we continue to build on our strengths, create jobs and invest in our future. We want as many as possible to get involved.”

The Western New York region’s 2011 strategic plan, “A Strategy for Prosperity,” leverages the region’s strategic advantages in key industry sectors including advanced manufacturing, agriculture, bi-national logistics, energy, health & life sciences, higher education, professional services and tourism. The plan focuses on strategies that promote smart growth, prepare our workforce and foster a culture of entrepreneurship. For Round 4 of CFA funding, the WNYREDC is seeking applicants that not only reflect the priorities that are most important to address Western New York’s opportunities and challenges, but will also create, retain or fill jobs; maximize return on investment; and are ready for implementation. CFAs will be reviewed by the WNYREDC based on their alignment with the Council’s strategic plan and will be reviewed on a technical basis by the applicable state agencies.

To read the full strategic plan, visit Applicants are also encouraged to reach out to the state agency resource team for technical assistance prior to submitting an application and to view the 2014 CFA Toolkit on the WNYREDC website for tips and guidance.

About the New York State Consolidated Funding Application
As part of Governor Cuomo’s efforts to improve the state’s economic development model, a NYS Consolidated Funding Application (CFA) was created to streamline and expedite the grant application process. The CFA process marks a fundamental shift in the way state resources are allocated, ensuring less bureaucracy and greater efficiency to fulfill local economic development needs. The CFA serves as the single entry point for access to economic development funding, ensuring applicants no longer have to slowly navigate multiple agencies and sources without any mechanism for coordination. Now, economic development projects use the CFA as a support mechanism to access multiple state funding sources through one application, making the process quicker, easier, and more productive. The CFA was recognized with a Special Award for Excellence in Business and Economic Development in 2012.

There are 33 programs available through 12 state agencies in 2014, including Empire State Development; NYS Canal Corporation; NYS Energy Research and Development Authority; Environmental Facilities Corporation; Homes and Community Renewal; Department of Labor; Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation; Department of State; The New York Power Authority; Department of Environmental Conservation; The Office of Storm Recovery, and Council on the Arts.

The 2014 Available CFA Resources Manual, which outlines the funds available from 33 state agency programs, and the 2014 REDC Guidebook, which provides the competitive guidelines for this year, are both available on the REDC website.

About the Regional Economic Development Councils
The Regional Economic Development Council initiative (REDC) is a key component of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo’s transformative approach to State investment and economic development. In 2011, Governor Cuomo established 10 Regional Councils to develop long-term strategic plans for economic growth for their regions. The Councils are public-private partnerships made up of local experts and stakeholders from business, academia, local government, and non-governmental organizations. The Regional Councils have redefined the way New York invests in jobs and economic growth by putting in place a community-based, bottom up approach and establishing a competitive process for State resources. After three rounds of the REDC process, more than $2 billion has been awarded to job creation and community development projects consistent with each region’s strategic plans, resulting in creation or retention of more than 100,000 jobs. For more information on the Regional Councils, visit